Logo [DA-Group']
 
 

News



 

21 Feb 2022

Webinar: Undersea Battle - Suspectibility vs Detection

WEBINAR RECORDING IS NOW AVAILABLE: Please send your contact information by an email directly to maija.julin@da-group.fi 

***

DA-Group welcomes audience to the SURMA 15 webinar - the expert-driven discussion with focus on modern underwater warfare technology.

Register for the free seminar from this link (PMI Live) - Tuesday, April 19, 2022
Webinar session at 8am BST & WET/ 9am CET / 10am EET / 3pm Singapore / 4pm Tokyo / 5pm Canberra

This webinar will discuss measures to reduce underwater signatures and also means to enhance survivability of naval ships and submarines against underwater explosions (UNDEX).

Looking from the opposite perspective, the webinar debates the operating principles of modern underwater surveillance systems, what these sensors detect and how this information can be exploited by the operator. Practical examples include target acquisition and detonation logic of influence sea mines.

Webinar is a continuation to quarter decennial SURMA Naval Combat Survivability Seminar series.

Program:

Our 2-hour session consists of:

- Welcome Remarks and Introduction, Vice Adm (ret) Kari Takanen

- Susceptibility and UNDEX Survivability, Roope Kotiranta

- Detection and UNDEX Lethality, Kristian Tornivaara 

- Q&A

Key Learning Objectives

  • Navy ships’ UNDEX survivability can be enhanced by good design choices.
  • Navy Ships’ Underwater signature levels can be reduced by good design and active measures.
  • Modern multisensory surveillance systems can detect and identify underwater and surface targets.
  • Underwater signatures can be exploited in sea mine algorithms.

Target Audience

  • Naval Mine Warfare Officer
  • Underwater Surveillance Officer
  • Underwater Signature Expert
  • Degaussing Expert
  • Underwater Warfare Expert
  • Combat System Project Manager
  • Lethality Analysist

SPEAKERS

Ex-Chief of one of the world-leading mine warfare navies, Vice ADM (ret) Kari Takanen, moderates a technology discussion in DA-Group’s underwater warfare webinar. In this webinar the latest technology on both susceptibility and lethality side are debated.

Roope Kotiranta
Chief Technology Officer, RnD

Kristian Tornivaara
Chief Business Officer 

Kari Takanen, Vice ADM (ret.) Senior Naval Advisor, DA-Group


 

ORDER OUR NEWSLETTER

Stay abreast with technology trends, events and news.

 
 
 
x